A friend was in town visiting and had brought her dog along.  Naturally, I looked for a location we could hang out at with her furry friend.  Poogan’s Porch was the obvious choice since it is known for the pup that used to sit on the porch.  They were extremely friendly and set us up at a table on the back porch.  They brought out biscuits with honey butter prior to our food.  They were really good and homemade with a solid crust on the outside and warm and soft on the inside.  I order Pimento and Cheese Fritters and She Crab Soup as my entree.  The fritters were admittedly a little on the cool side, but still had a good flavor with the green tomato jelly they were served with.  The soup was my first taste of the type and it reminded me of clam chowder, which since they’re basically the same thing it made a lot of sense. So over all the atmosphere was great, the food was just okay.

 

Leave a comment